on coq au vin.

I probably had Joy of Cooking for at least a year before I cracked it open and tried a recipe. (To be honest, I think the guinea pig might have been mulled wine–not my thing, but it sounded good on paper). I’ve never been one for using cookbooks, but there’s a wealth of knowledge in this one, and lately I’ve been reaching for it more and more. A lot of the recipes are easy to tweak for those of us who are trying to be more health-conscious since they don’t call for processed ingredients.

Last night’s dinner is basically a gluten-free version of Coq Au Vin from Joy of Cooking. Here is what I used:

4 1/2 pounds of organic drumsticks. You could use any chicken part(s) you want, but the grocery store we were at had a pretty limited selection of organic meats, so this is what we came home with!

4 oz bacon (make sure it’s nitrite-free! Also, I fried extra to add to my mashed cauliflower).

1 chopped sweet onion

3/4 cup chopped carrots

1/2 to 1 teaspoon coconut flour (I might should have used more, but I was wary–I’ve only ever used coconut flour for baking, not thickening sauces)

1 bottle of red wine (I used cab sav, my go-to red)

1 cup chicken broth

2 tablespoons tomato paste

2 bay leaves

1 teaspoon marjoram and oregano (each)

4 tablespoons butter

1 cup pearl onions (frozen)

10 oz baby bells, sliced

Fry up the bacon, I used a big skillet, and take it out to drain on paper towels while you brown the drumsticks in the leftover grease. Make sure you salt and pepper your chicken before sticking it in the pan! Also, if you run out of bacon grease, that’s okay–I did too. Just add a tablespoon or so of butter and you’ll be fine (preferably unsalted, as it won’t burn).

When all your chicken has been browned, put it in a big pot, covered, and add your chopped onions and carrots to the skillet (with more butter if needed). Cook those until fairly softened, then add your coconut flour, red wine, chicken broth, tomato paste, and herbs. Simmer that until it’s all mixed, then pour your sauce over your chicken in the big pot, add the pearl onions, and bring it to a boil. Turn down the heat and let it simmer for a half hour or so until the chicken is done.

While the chicken simmers, sauté your baby bellas in a couple of tablespoons of butter until all the liquid has evaporated. If you’ve used some butter to sauté your chicken and veggies, don’t use four tablespoons on ten ounces of mushrooms–you don’t need that much.

When your chicken is finished cooking, fish it and the bay leaves out of the sauce. Toss the leaves, plate the chicken and drape it in foil. Then, turn up the heat and boil your sauce until it’s reduced and sauce-like. Once you’ve got it to the right consistency (make sure you taste-test!), reduce the heat and add the chicken and mushrooms back into the pot. Salt and pepper that bad boy, let everything simmer until it’s warmed the chicken back up, and you’re done! You can top with fresh parsley if you like–I didn’t only because I forgot.

I served my coq au vin with mashed cauliflower (and the leftover bacon) and roasted asparagus.

Happy cooking, and also Happy (belated) Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

